About the book: Elizabeth Smart follows up her #1 New York Times bestseller (October 2013), My Story—about being held in captivity as a teenager, and how she managed to survive—with a powerful and inspiring book about what it takes to overcome trauma, find the strength to move on, and reclaim one’s life.

Author. Activist. Victim—no more.

In her fearless memoir, My Story—the basis of the Lifetime Original movie I Am Elizabeth Smart—Elizabeth detailed, for the first time, the horror behind the headlines of her abduction by religious fanatic Brian David Mitchell and his wife, Wanda Barzee. Since then, she’s married, become a mother, and travelled the world as the president of the Elizabeth Smart Foundation, sharing her story with the intent of helping others along the way.

Over and over, Elizabeth is asked the same question: How do you find the hope to go on? In this book, Elizabeth returns to the horrific experiences she endured, and the hard-won lessons she learned, to provide answers. She also calls upon others who have dealt with adversity—victims of violence, disease, war, and loss—to explore the pathways toward hope. Through conversations with such well-known voices as Anne Romney, Diane von Furstenburg, and Mandy Patinkin to spiritual leaders Archbishop John C. Wester and Elder Richard Hinckley to her own parents, Elizabeth uncovers an even greater sense of solace and understanding. Where There’s Hope is the result of Elizabeth’s mission: It is both an up-close-and-personal glimpse into her healing process and a heartfelt how-to guide for readers to make peace with the past and embrace the future.

From the book:
“I was not willing to accept that my fate was to live unhappily ever after. Everything—my family, my home, my chance to go to school—had been given back to me, and I didn’t want to miss a second chance of living my own life.” —Elizabeth Smart

“There are two types of survivors: the ones who did not die, and the ones who live. There will be those who will always remember and be the victim, and ones who just won’t. You have to go on, you have to learn, and you have to heal.”—Diane von Furstenberg

My review: I loved the way this book is written. The author wrote about her own experience, but that’s not really what the book is about. This book is about many different people, in many different circumstances and how each and every one of them found the hope they needed to be able to go on.

Hope is one of those abstract concepts. I mean…we all know kind of what it means. Hope is defined as a feeling of trust or expectation that a thing is going to happen. But sometimes, I think hope becomes a little bit different, it becomes almost an impetus, a force that helps us be able to get up from a hard situation and keep going anyway. That’s the kind of hope the author was really talking about in this one. 

I loved something that the author said a couple of times in this one. She talks about being able to forgive, because if we can’t forgive we can’t really have hope. But something she said was that her mom told her that the “best punishment she could ever give to those that had hurt 

her was to be happy.” That’s really true for all of us. It isn’t going to hurt anyone who hurts us in any way for us to hang on to our hurts, but it will hurt us. We all need to learn to be happy with everything we’ve been given, whether it was in the past or in 

the present. That’s probably something that I personally needed, but it’s something that really stood out to me as I read this one.

When my husband and I bought this book, we was able to meet the author. She was gracious and sweet. I’m grateful that I got the chance to meet her.

I purchased a copy of this book.

Purchase links: AmazonDeseret Book

What to read next:

This post contains affiliate links, which simply means that if you click on my link and make a purchase, I may receive a small commission from your purchase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>